Hi, How Can We Help You?
July 20, 2022

How To Get Visa On Arrival in Indonesia?

Tuesday, 19 July 2022
Writer: Ajeng Rahma Safitri
Editor: Muhammad Fijar Sulistyo

Directorate General of Immigration issued Circular Letter No. IMI-0603.GR.01.01 of 2022 on 27 April 2022 that adds 12 countries as subjects of Visa on Arrival (VoA). The 12 countries include Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia, Kuwait, Egypt, Morocco, Oman, Peru, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine, and Jordan. In total, there are 72 countries citizens of which are eligible for VOA. Despite that this is great news for foreign tourists, many still wonder, what should be done to get Visa on Arrival in Indonesia?

“To obtain VoA, foreigners must show a nationality passport that is valid for at least 6 (six) months, return tickets or a ticket to continue traveling to another country, Covid-19 vaccination certificate (full dose) and proof of payment for VoA”, said the Public Relations Sub-Coordinator of the Directorate General of Immigration, Achmad Nur Saleh.

Visa on Arrival costs Rp 500.000, according to Government Regulation No. 28 of 2019. The same cost applies for VoA extension. Foreigners can apply for VoA on Bank Rakyat Indonesia (BRI) counter located before immigration check points in the arrival hall. They can pay with US Dollars and Rupiah, or request currency change first if unavailable. Visa on Arrival subjects can extend the VoA for only once, it is valid for the next 30 days. Extension is carried out at any immigration office that is closest to where the foreigner lives.

Achmad emphasizes that Visa on Arrival cannot be converted to another stay permit type. Holders are also not eligible to apply for an extension of their stay permit with an onshore visa. In addition, he also demands that both foreigners and tourism industry players comply with immigration regulations. Owners or managers of hotels are obliged to provide information or data regarding foreigners staying to facilitate the supervision of foreigners.

“Foreigners who misuse their stay permit will be subject to immigration sanctions according to the applicable laws and regulations. Likewise, suppose they are proven to have violated health protocols and disrupted public order,” Achmad reminded. The subjects of VoA can use this permit to engage in tourism activities only.

Countries, Governments of a Special Administrative Region of a Country, and Certain Entities Subject to a Visa on Arrival for Tourism


  • South Africa
  • The United States of America
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Argentina,
  • Australia,
  • Austria,
  • Bahrain
  • Netherland
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia Herzegovina
  • Brazil,
  • Brunei Darussalam,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Czech
  • Denmark,
  • Estonia,
  • Philippines
  • Finland
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • India,
  • The United Kingdom
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Germany
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • South Korea
  • Croatia
  • Kuwait,
  • Laos,
  • Latvia,
  • Lithuania,
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia,
  • Malta,
  • Morocco
  • Mexico
  • Egypt
  • Myanmar,
  • Norway
  • Oman,
  • France
  • Peru,
  • Poland
  • Portugal,
  • Qatar,
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • New Zealand
  • Serbia,
  • Seychelles,
  • Singapore
  • Cyprus
  • Slovakia,
  • Slovenia,
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan,
  • Thailand,
  • Timor Leste,
  • China
  • Tunisia,
  • Turkiye
  • The United Arab Emirates
  • Ukraina,
  • Vietnam,
  • Jordan
  • Greece


Immigration Border Control (TPI) Designated as the entry point to VoA and Visa Exemption arrangements Subject Countries


  • Hang Nadim, Riau Islands
  • Soekarno Hatta, Jakarta,
  • Ngurah Rai, Bali,
  • Kualanamu, North Sumatera,
  • Juanda, East Java
  • Hasanuddin, South Sulawesi
  • Sam Ratulangi, North Sulawesi
  • Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta
  • Zainuddin Abdul Majid, West Nusa Tenggara



  • Benoa, Bali
  • Dumai, Riau
  • Nongsa Terminal Bahari, Riau Islands,
  • Batam Centre, Riau Islands,
  • Sekupang, Riau Islands,
  • Citra Tri Tunas, Riau Islands,
  • Marina Teluk Senimba, Riau Islands,
  • Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi, Riau Islands,
  • Bandar Seri Udana Lobam, Riau Islands
  • Sri Bintan Pura, Riau Islands.
  • Tanjung Balai Karimun, Riau Islands


Cross-border posts (land)

  • Entikong, West Kalimantan,
  • Aruk, West Kalimantan,
  • Mota’ain, East Nusa Tenggara, and
  • Tunon Taka, East Kalimantan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>