Hi, How Can We Help You?
April 5, 2022

Press Release: Visa on Arrival for 43 Countries and Visa Exemption Arrangement for ASEAN Tourists

Jakarta: The Directorate General of Immigration (DGI), Ministry of Law and Human Rights, has expanded the coverage of Visa on Arrival (VoA) and Visa Exemption arrangements for tourism. With this new policy, citizens from nine ASEAN countries can enter Indonesia for tourism without a visa, and VoA is eligible for citizens from 43 countries. It is stated in the Circular Letter of the Director-General of Immigration Number IMI-0549.GR.01.01 dated 5 April 2022 on Ease of Immigration in the Framework of Supporting Sustainable Tourism During the Corona Virus Disease 2019 Pandemic. Corona Virus Disease 2019 .

Therefore, Circular Letter of the Director-General of Immigration Number IMI-0532.GR.01.01 of 2022 on Visa on Arrivals for Tourism to Support Sustainable Tourism in Bali During the Corona Virus Disease 2019 Pandemic Corona Virus Disease and Circular Letter of the Director-General of Immigration Number IMI-0533.GR.01.01 of 2022 on Immigration Ease in Supporting Sustainable Tourism in the Batam and Bintan Areas During the Corona Virus Disease 2019 Pandemic is revoked and declared invalid.

As referred to in the circular letter, foreigners can enter Indonesia only through 19 designated Immigration Border Control (TPI).

"For now, there are seven airports, eight seaports, and four Cross-Border Posts designated as entry points for foreigners with VoA and Visa Exemption arrangements. They cannot enter through another TPI if they want to use the visa scheme.

However, suppose they want to leave Indonesia. In that case, they can exit through any TPI," explained Director of Visa, Passport, and Immigration Border Control, Amran Aris.

There are several requirements for the scheme. Foreigners must show a valid passport for at least 6 (six) months validity, a return ticket or connecting ticket to continue traveling to another country, proof of payment for VoA, and evidence of insurance ownership following the Chief of Covid-19 Task Force regulations.

"The VoA tariff is Rp. 500,000, under Government Regulation no. 28 of 2019. The VoA extension is the same Rp. 500,000. The stay permit originating from the VoA can be extended once for 30 days, and visa holders can apply at the immigration office near the foreigner's residence area in Indonesia." said Amran.

Amran stressed that the stay permits from VoA and Visa Exemption arrangements could not be changed into another stay permit. The holder is also not eligible to apply for an onshore visa. .In addition, Amran also demanded that both foreigners and tourism industry players comply with the immigration regulations. Owners or managers of a hotel are obliged to provide information or data regarding foreigners staying overnight to facilitate the supervision of foreigners.

"Foreigners who are confirmed to have misused their stay permits will be subject to immigration sanctions. Likewise, if they have violated health protocols and disrupted public order, they will be subject to sanctions according to the applicable laws and regulations," concluded Amran.


Attachment to Press Release Number: SP/IMI/04/2022/01

Countries, Governments of a Special Administrative Region of a Country, and Certain Entities Subject to a Visa on Arrival for Tourism

  1. South Africa
  2. The United States of America
  3. Saudi Arabia
  4. Argentina
  5. Australia
  6. The Netherland
  7. Belgium
  8. Brazil
  9. Brunei Darussalam
  10. Denmark
  11. The Philippines
  12. Finland
  13. Hungary
  14. India
  15. The United Kingdom
  16. Italy
  17. Japan
  18. Germany
  19. Cambodia
  20. Canada
  21. South Korea
  22. Laos
  23. Malaysia
  24. Mexico
  25. Myanmar
  26. Norway
  27. France
  28. Poland
  29. Qatar
  30. New Zealand
  31. Seychelles
  32. Singapore
  33. Spain
  34. Sweden
  35. Switzerland
  36. Taiwan
  37. Thailand
  38. China
  39. Timor Leste
  40. Tunisia
  41. Turkiye
  42. The United Arab Emirates
  43. Vietnam

Immigration Border Control (TPI) Designated as the entry point to VoA and Visa Exemption arrangements Subject Countries


– Soekarno Hatta, Jakarta,
– Ngurah Rai, Bali,
- Kualanamu, North Sumatera,
- Juanda, East Java
- Hasanuddin, South Sulawesi
- Sam Ratulangi, North Sulawesi, and
- Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta


– Nongsa Terminal Bahari, Riau Islands,
– Batam Centre, Riau Islands,
– Sekupang, Riau Islands,
– Citra Tri Tunas, Riau Islands,
– Marina Teluk Senimba, Riau Islands,
– Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi, Riau Islands,
– Bandar Seri Udana Lobam, Riau Islands, and
– Sri Bintan Pura, Riau Islands.

Border-crossing Posts

– Entikong, West Kalimantan,
– Aruk, West Kalimantan,
– Mota’ain, East Nusa Tenggara, and
– Tunon Taka, Kalimantan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>