Hi, How Can We Help You?
  • Immigration Policy Information that applies during the Covid-19 pandemic here
May 30, 2022

Press Release: Russia and Ukraine are included in the new 12 countries eligible for Visa on Arrival

Jakarta: The Indonesian government has added 12 countries subject to a Visa on Arrival (VoA), which was previously only intended for citizens from 60 countries. The 12 countries include Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia, Kuwait, Egypt, Morocco, Oman, Peru, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine, and Jordan. Citizens from these 72 countries can enter Indonesia through 9 airports, 11 seaports, and 4 cross-border posts. The new list is regulated in the Circular Letter of the Director-General of Immigration (DGI) Number IMI-0603.GR.01.01 of 2022 on Immigration Ease in Supporting Sustainable Tourism During the Corona Virus Disease . Meanwhile, there are no additions in countries subject to Visitor Visa Exemption (VVE) arrangement. This new policy comes into effect as of 30 May 2022. Accordingly, the Circular Letter of the Director-General of Immigration Number IMI-0584.GR.01.01 of 2022, signed on 27 April 2022, is revoked and declared invalid. 

"This time, there are only 12 additional countries, no additions or changes to the Immigration Border Control (TPI) that serve VoA",explained the Sub-Coordinator of Public Relations of the DGI, Achmad Nur Saleh.

To obtain VVE or VoA, foreigners must show a valid nationality passport valid for at least 6 (six) months, a return ticket or connecting ticket to continue traveling to another country, proof of payment for VoA", and proof of insurance ownership at an insurance company with an Indonesian legal entity which includes medical financing while staying in Indonesia. This information is also stated in the previous press release: "Government Adds Subjects for Visa on Arrival for Tourism to 60 Countries".

 "The VoA fee is Rp500,000 according to Government Regulation No. 28 of 2019, and for VoA extension is the same, Rp500,000. The stay permit originating from the VoA can be extended one-time for 30 days and carried out at the immigration office near the area where the foreigner lives while in Indonesia." Said Ahmad.

Achmad emphasized that the stay permit from VVE and VoA cannot be changed to another stay permit. Holders are also not eligible to apply for an extension of their stay permit with an onshore visa .In addition, Achmad also demanded that both foreigners and tourism industry players comply with immigration regulations. Owners or managers of hotels are obliged to provide information or data regarding foreigners staying overnight to facilitate the supervision of foreigners.

"Foreigners who have misused their stay permits will be subject to immigration sanctions. Likewise, suppose they are proven to have violated health protocols and disrupted public order. In that case, they will be subject to sanctions according to the applicable laws and regulations," concluded Achmad.

Foreigners can use VVE or VoA to engage in tourism activities or government duties in state or international government events. To carry out these activities, apart from meeting the requirements stated above, foreigners must also attach an invitation letter to attend the conference/forum/meeting issued by the Ministry/Agency/Agency of the Republic of Indonesia.


Countries, Governments of a Special Administrative Region of a Country, and Certain Entities Subject to a Visa on Arrival for Tourism

  • South Africa
  • The United States of America
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Argentina,
  • Australia,
  • Austria,
  • Bahrain
  • Netherland
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia Herzegovina
  • Brazil,
  • Brunei Darussalam,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Czech
  • Denmark,
  • Estonia,
  • Philippines
  • Finland
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • India,
  • The United Kingdom
  • Ireland


  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Germany
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • South Korea
  • Croatia
  • Kuwait,
  • Laos,
  • Latvia,
  • Lithuania,
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia,
  • Malta,
  • Morocco
  • Mexico
  • Egypt
  • Myanmar,
  • Norway
  • Oman,
  • France
  • Peru,
  • Poland
  • Portugal,


  • Qatar,
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • New Zealand
  • Serbia,
  • Seychelles,
  • Singapore
  • Cyprus
  • Slovakia,
  • Slovenia,
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan,
  • Thailand,
  • Timor Leste,
  • China
  • Tunisia,
  • Turkiye
  • The United Arab Emirates
  • Ukraina,
  • Vietnam,
  • Jordan
  • Greece


Immigration Border Control (TPI) Designated as the entry point to VoA and Visa Exemption arrangements Subject Countries

  • Airports
    1. Hang Nadim, Riau Islands
    2. Soekarno Hatta, Jakarta,
    3. Ngurah Rai, Bali,
    4. Kualanamu, North Sumatera,
    5. Juanda, East Java
    6.   Hasanuddin, South Sulawesi
    7. Sam Ratulangi, North Sulawesi 
    8. Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta 
    9.   Zainuddin Abdul Majid, West Nusa Tenggara


  •     Seaports
    1. Benoa, Bali
    2. Dumai, Riau
    3. Nongsa Terminal Bahari, Riau Islands,
    4. Batam Centre, Riau Islands,
    5. Sekupang, Riau Islands,
    6.   Citra Tri Tunas, Riau Islands,
    7. Marina Teluk Senimba, Riau Islands,
    8. Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi, Riau Islands,
    9.   Bandar Seri Udana Lobam, Riau Islands
    10.   Sri Bintan Pura, Riau Islands.
    11. Tanjung Balai Karimun, Riau Islands


  •     Cross-border posts
    1. Entikong, West Kalimantan,
    2. Aruk, West Kalimantan,
    3. Mota’ain, East Nusa Tenggara, and
    4. Tunon Taka, East Kalimantan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">html</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>